Bromic Tungsten Smart-Heat 4000 W Electric Patio Heater (BH0420032)
The SKIP: 4,000 W that owners keep having to stand under — The same fixture family as the Bromic 6000 W with a third less output; 3.8★ across 47 ratings, 16% of them one star, and its critical reviews keep coming back to weak heat and short reach
How to read a Showdown Score™
The only score that counts how often a product breaks, not just how owners feel about it.
- Three parts add up to the score: what owners rate it, how often it fails them, and whether a credentialed tester backed it.
- Bands: Exceptional 8.5 and up, Excellent 7.5, Very good 6.5, Good 5.5, Fair 4, Poor below 4. Every score is dated.
- Price, the warranty and what a link pays us stay out of it.
Fair, early data
Fair is 4.0 to 5.4.
Amazon says 3.8 stars. We score it 5.1, Fair: 24% of its 47 ratings are one or two stars.
See why it scored 5.1
Contender — The Best Electric Patio Heaters of 2026: What Each One Needs From Your Ceiling and Your Panel
Sold and shipped by Square Deal Shop · 30-day refund/replacement · read 2026-10-30
Specs
| Model | BH0420032 |
| Output | 4,000 W |
| Nameplate amps | 16.6 A (Bromic) |
| Breaker (one feed) | 25 A |
| Lowest ceiling (bracket) | 109 in |
| Wall mount | 84 in |
| Coverage (maker) | 130 sq ft (2026 cut sheet); up to 120 sq ft (2025-12 manual) |
| Weather rating | IPX4 (Bromic) |
| Element life | Not published; elements carry a 7-year warranty |
| Controls | None included; Bromic's Affinity controls sold separately |
| Warranty | 2 years heater, 7 years heating elements (Bromic); original owner; a replacement heater or part, and you pay labor and shipping |
| Owner rating | 3.8★ / 47 |
| Sold on Amazon by | Square Deal Shop; Bromic's store is on the offer list |
| Breaker math | 16.6 × 1.25 = 20.75 A, then the next standard size; your inspector decides |
| Clearances | 96 in to the floor + 13 in to the ceiling on a ceiling mount; 72 in + 12 in on a wall mount (manual) |
Pros
- By the 125% math, a 25 A circuit rather than 35 A; your inspector decides
- Same seven-year element warranty as the 6,000 W
- Two owners in mild climates are happy: 'they take the chill out of a cool evening'
Cons
- 4 of 7 critical reviews describe weak heat or reach: 'Almost no heat comes out unless you're 2 feet away'
- One owner would have 'bought the 6,000 watt version rather than the 4,000 watt version', and one returned it for an Infratech
- Same 109-in ceiling need as the 6,000 W
- A switch or dimmer and a licensed electrician are extra, as on the 6,000 W
Not enough heat or reach. 'Almost no heat comes out unless you're 2 feet away'; 'If you aren't directly in front of the heater and within 5 feet - don't plan on getting warm'; 'I could hardly feel any heat.' One owner says the seller did not disclose a controller was needed; one reports a broken element on arrival.
All 7 written critical reviews, 2018 to November 2025, read 2026-10-30: 4 weak heat or coverage, 1 repeated breakdowns (filed under the 4000-watt size, though it names a Tungsten 6000), 1 controller, 1 broken element. · critical reviews read 2026-10-30
“Works really well for my application. I have a 16 x 22' patio that is open on three sides in Irvine, CA. I used two 4,000 Watt heaters and they take the chill out of a cool evening. Won't get you overheated, but makes the space comfortable. I'm not sure they would work in a cold or windy environment.”— Amazon Customer, Amazon · Verified owner
FAQ
Who is the Bromic Tungsten Smart-Heat 4000 W Electric Patio Heater (BH0420032) for?
You have already run the numbers on a very small seating group, want Bromic's look, and do not expect it to do the job of the 6,000 W: the cheaper model is rarely the better buy here.
What do owners say about the Bromic Tungsten Smart-Heat 4000 W Electric Patio Heater (BH0420032)?
3.8★ across 47 owner ratings (Amazon, read 2026-10-30 · early data). What owners complain about: Not enough heat or reach. 'Almost no heat comes out unless you're 2 feet away'; 'If you aren't directly in front of the heater and within 5 feet - don't plan on getting warm'; 'I could hardly feel any heat.' One owner says the seller did not disclose a controller was needed; one reports a broken element on arrival.
Who sells the Bromic Tungsten Smart-Heat 4000 W Electric Patio Heater (BH0420032) on Amazon, and can it be returned?
Sold and shipped by Square Deal Shop, when we read the listing on 2026-10-30. Amazon's returns line read: 30-day refund/replacement. Sellers and return terms can change, so check both on the listing before you buy.
What is the warranty on the Bromic Tungsten Smart-Heat 4000 W Electric Patio Heater (BH0420032)?
2 years heater, 7 years heating elements (Bromic); original owner; a replacement heater or part, and you pay labor and shipping
Does the Bromic Tungsten Smart-Heat 4000 W Electric Patio Heater (BH0420032) warranty still apply if I buy it on Amazon?
Bromic Heating answers that in its own warranty document, which we read on 2026-10-30: Any claim under this warranty should be initiated with the dealer/retailer who sold the heater, or with any other dealer handling the warrantor's products. We quote the maker rather than deciding your case — read the document before you buy if the warranty is why you are buying.
Record
- — Added as the SKIP in the electric patio heaters showdown: 3.8 across 47 ratings, 16% one star, with weak heat the theme of its critical reviews.
Warranty — and what changes if you buy it on Amazon
2 years heater, 7 years heating elements (Bromic); original owner; a replacement heater or part, and you pay labor and shipping · you are buying this on Amazon
Any claim under this warranty should be initiated with the dealer/retailer who sold the heater, or with any other dealer handling the warrantor's products.
Bromic Heating’s own warranty document · read
Read it yourself: Bromic Heating warranty document · we read it . Terms change without announcement, so treat this as a dated snapshot. How warranty works by buy path →
✓ Safety: no active recall — No active CPSC recall found (checked 2026-10-30)
Size your pool first → ·All pool gear →
Data last verified: 2026-10-30. Ratings are real, dated reads — never scraped or invented. Full methodology and monetization disclosure: how we test.