Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit product photo
Ignik

Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit

Best packable — The ammo-can fire pit — 11.5 lb, folding legs, a 5-ft hose, packs down to 12 × 6 × 8 in — for the truck bed, the beach and the burn-ban campsite, at 4.6★ across 350 on a single listing with Vine reviews in the base; its tail is a weak flame and a regulator that quits

★ 4.6 · 350 owner ratings · Amazon · September 2026

Check price at Amazon →

Specs

FuelPropane, 5- to 20-lb cylinder (5-ft hose; not for 1-lb bottles)
Rated outputNot stated on the listing
BurnerNot specified
BodySteel can with mesh sides, 15.5 × 6.5 × 10.75 in, 11.5 lb
Run cost per hourNot computable — no rated output published
IgnitionNone — light through the pilot hole; flame control is on the hose, not the can
CertificationNone stated on the listing
WarrantyNot published on the listing
Owner rating4.6★ / 350

Pros

  • The most packable propane fire on Amazon — 11.5 lb, folds to a lunchbox
  • Mesh sides show the flame from every seat
  • Owners report it on five-day overlanding trips at 10,000 ft
  • Single listing, all US Verified Purchase cards on the top sort

Cons

  • Weak flame is the tail: 'insanely weak and small, even with a brand new propane cylinder', 'lack luster flame' — this is ambiance, not heat
  • The regulator on the hose 'worked for one use'; one arrived without it; the flame control lives at the tank, not the can
  • 'Almost blew up' — one owner reports a flare on lighting; the lid fits loosely on two units
  • No rated BTU, no igniter, no 1-lb bottle option; the 5-ft hose is short
What owners complain aboutCapability limit

A weak flame — 'the flame was insanely weak and small, even with a brand new propane cylinder' (Apr 2024), 'a pretty lack luster flame… two different and new propane tanks' (Aug 2026), 'Advertised as taller flame' (Apr 2026). Second: the hose and regulator — 'worked for one use, then crapped out', arrived missing, wrong fitting on the maker's own tank; the control knob is on the hose at the tank. Third: 'Almost blew up' on lighting (Aug 2025); a lid that fits loosely on two units.

10 most recent critical cards read 2026-09-06 (Sep 2023 → Aug 2026): 4 of 10 weak flame, 3 regulator/hose, 1 flare-up, 1 lid, 1 no 1-lb option; 8/10 Verified Purchase, 0 Vine · critical reviews read September 2026

Pro review “I really liked the simplicity and heavy-duty build of the Ignik FireCan. The compact design and rugged construction made it easy to pack with camp gear without worrying that something might break or get lost.”Bob Vila's 'Best Propane' pick — the standard FireCan we card (not the Deluxe); page updated March 2025, eighteen months old, kept as the only credentialed hands-on test of this exact model.— Mark Wolfe, Bob Vila

FAQ

Who is the Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit for?

You are carrying it, not siting it — a campfire in a 12-inch box that a 5-lb cylinder runs for two nights; for a patio, the bowls above make three times the flame.

What do owners say about the Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit?

4.6★ across 350 owner ratings (Amazon, read September 2026 · incentivised base). What owners complain about: A weak flame — 'the flame was insanely weak and small, even with a brand new propane cylinder' (Apr 2024), 'a pretty lack luster flame… two different and new propane tanks' (Aug 2026), 'Advertised as taller flame' (Apr 2026). Second: the hose and regulator — 'worked for one use, then crapped out', arrived missing, wrong fitting on the maker's own tank; the control knob is on the hose at the tank. Third: 'Almost blew up' on lighting (Aug 2025); a lid that fits loosely on two units.

What is the warranty on the Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit?

Ignik publishes no warranty term for the Ignik FireCan Portable Propane Fire Pit — we looked for one from the maker and record the absence rather than guess. Buy it somewhere with a return window you trust.

Record

✓ Safety: no active recall — CPSC SaferProducts API queried 2026-09-06 by ProductName= ('fire pit', 'propane fire pit', 'fire bowl' and the brand name): no recall of a residential propane fire bowl or concrete fire table 2023–2026; the 2025–26 tabletop-fire-pit recalls are the ethanol 'flame-jetting' class, a different fuel. Propane: outdoor use only; every manual carries the same carbon-monoxide warning, and the manufacturers' shelter clause (a roof with no more than two side walls, or three walls with 30% of the perimeter open) is the definition of 'outdoors'.

Data last verified: September 2026. Ratings are real, dated reads — never scraped or invented. Full methodology and monetization disclosure: how we test.