Robotic Pool Cleaners matchup · Middleweight division
Aiper Scuba S3 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner vs Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner
the Middleweight title fight, re-ruled July 2026
Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner
Middleweight Division~$689 (MSRP $999)
The judges have ruled
Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner took this fight in our Middleweight division showdown.
Ringside notes
These two met in our Middleweight division fight, and as of July 2026 the ruling has changed hands: the Sora 30 now holds the belt. The reversal came from re-reading both listings on the same day rather than comparing numbers taken months apart. The Scuba S3's owner score fell from 4.7★ to 4.3★ — and the larger 145-rating base behind it is pooled from several countries and padded with Amazon Vine reviews written by people who received the robot free. The Sora 30's 4.5★ across 217 ratings came entirely from US buyers who paid. On top of that, the S3's most common owner complaint lands on the thing it's marketed for: the cleaning pattern leaves uncleaned strips where it turns and skips the far and shallow ends. The Sora 30's counterpunch was always reach and stamina — 3,229 sq ft of claimed coverage and a 270–300 minute runtime against the S3's ~1,615 sq ft and 180–240 minutes, at $750 street to the S3's $900 — and it now leads on owners as well. The honest catch against it is unchanged and real: the one rigorous independent test panned its build and cleaning, and its advertised 3-micron fine filter reportedly isn't shipping, so you get 150-micron standard. The S3 keeps the better filter and the longer eco runtime; if those are your priorities, it's still the buy. Both batteries are effectively sealed.
Tale of the tape
| Model | Best for | Coverage | Runtime | Suction | Filtration | Battery | Owner rating | Navigation | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Finest filtration, longest runtime | ~1,615 sq ft | 180 / 240 min (eco) | 4,800 GPH | 3 µm ultra-fine | Sealed | 4.7★ / 87 — global, pooled across two ASINs, and only ONE critical card exists (it is Vine) | Sensor (dToF) | ~$649.99typical at Aiper directCheck price → | |
| Best owner-rated | 3,229 sq ft (claimed) | 270 / 300 min | 6,800 GPH (claimed) | 150 µm | Not stated | 4.5★ / 217 | Sensor (13-sensor) | ~$689typical at AmazonCheck price → |
Prices move constantly — any Amazon price shown is as of the date noted and subject to change; tap through for today's number.
Prices move constantly — tap through for today's number.
What would decide it
- Owner proof: Aiper Scuba S3 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner reads 4.7★ across 87 owners; Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner reads 4.5★ across 217. Depth of sample matters as much as the star.
- The money: Aiper Scuba S3 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner streets ~$650, Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner ~$689 — MSRPs, not sale lows, decide the tier.
- The hidden consumable: Aiper Scuba S3 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner battery — Sealed; Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner — Not stated. A robot whose battery can't be replaced IS the consumable.
- Aiper Scuba S3 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner — your pick if: filtration and runtime are what you're optimising for — 3 µm and up to 240 minutes, in the lightest body to lift out — and your pool is a simple shape, since the recurring owner complaint is uncleaned strips and skipped ends on freeform pools.
- Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner — your pick if: you want big coverage and long runtime backed by the strongest owner record in cordless (4.5★/217 all verified US purchases, no free-product reviews padding it) — just know the one rigorous test panned the build, so owners and testers disagree.
The full cards
Best owner-rated · The best owner rating we track in cordless (4.5★ / 217) on a base drawn entirely from US buyers who paid, with huge claimed coverage and the longest floor runtime — but the one rigorous independent test panned its build and cleaning, so owners and testers disagree
Your pick if you want big coverage and long runtime backed by the strongest owner record in cordless (4.5★/217 all verified US purchases, no free-product reviews padding it) — just know the one rigorous test panned the build, so owners and testers disagree.
Code Use AFF5 at Beatbot
Also at: Beatbot
“I've had five corded Dolphin robot cleaners in the past 20 years. The last one was the top of the line costing $1500. It cleaned the pool bottom ok, never cleaned the pool walls, and made no attempt to clean the stairs. Sora 30 has been fantastic at cleaning the pool floor, scrubbed the walls, and works its way up and down the stairs.”
“After two weeks testing the Beatbot Sora 30 in our test pool, I cannot recommend it.”
Beatbot Sora 30 4-in-1 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner
Best owner-ratedYour pick if you want big coverage and long runtime backed by the strongest owner record in cordless (4.5★/217 all verified US purchases, no free-product reviews padding it) — just know the one rigorous test panned the build, so owners and testers disagree.
“I've had five corded Dolphin robot cleaners in the past 20 years. The last one was the top of the line costing $1500. It cleaned the pool bottom ok, never cleaned the pool walls, and made no attempt to clean the stairs. Sora 30 has been fantastic at cleaning the pool floor, scrubbed the walls, and works its way up and down the stairs.”— Roberta M. Marshall, Amazon
Pro review “After two weeks testing the Beatbot Sora 30 in our test pool, I cannot recommend it.”— Justin D., The Pool Nerd
- The most owner reviews here — 4.5★ across 217 Amazon ratings — with the longest floor-only run time (up to 300 min) and big claimed coverage (3,229 sq ft), at ~$689 in either colour — the cheapest of the three
- 4-in-1 cleaning (floor, walls, waterline, shallow) with 13-sensor navigation and a 2-year warranty
- Light-touch value: it's the easiest way into a current, waterline-capable cordless robot
- The one serious independent test (The Pool Nerd) was negative — cheap-feeling build, weak and slow cleaning, poor wall and step performance — and rated it 'disapproved'; owners disagree, but the tester gap is real
- The advertised 3-micron fine filter reportedly isn't shipping yet, so you get 150-micron standard filtration, and the 6,800 GPH suction is a brand claim testers found optimistic
- Battery replaceability isn't documented — treat it as another sealed-ish consumable until Beatbot confirms otherwise
It does not clean the waterline and walls the way the listing implies, the basket is awkward to empty, and the app draws steady complaints.
5 of the first 10 critical cards (of 17) are coverage falling short of what was advertised - which is the same weakness the one rigorous pro test found, so owners and testers agree here more than the 4.5 average suggests · critical reviews read August 2026
Code Use AFF5 at Beatbot
Also at: Beatbot
Aiper Scuba S3 Cordless Robotic Pool Cleaner
Finest filtration, longest runtimeYour pick if filtration and runtime are what you're optimising for — 3 µm and up to 240 minutes, in the lightest body to lift out — and your pool is a simple shape, since the recurring owner complaint is uncleaned strips and skipped ends on freeform pools.
- The longest run time here (up to 240 min in eco mode) and the finest filter at 3 microns. Its listing shows 4.7★ across 87 and we deliberately do NOT rank on it: the old listing died, this is a fresh one, the ratings are GLOBAL, the identical 4.7★/87 appears on a second ASIN, and the only critical review in existence on it is an Amazon Vine free-product card. The Beatbot Sora 30 keeps the owner-rating belt on 217 verified US ratings
- JetAssist waterline scrubbing, climbs walls, sensor (dToF) navigation, and light to lift at 18 lbs
- 4,800 GPH suction and a 2-year warranty
- Brand-new 2026 model with no independent lab review yet — owners love it, but it hasn't faced the harder-testing reviewers, and Aiper's older Scuba S1 was panned by them
- Sealed battery you can't replace — when it degrades in a few years, the whole robot becomes the consumable (the hidden cost, made literal)
- Smallest rated coverage of the three (~1,615 sq ft) — a big pool wants the Beatbot Sora 30
Coverage gaps: the nav pattern leaves strips at the turns and untouched areas in the shallow end.
3 of 7 US critical reviews, independently · critical reviews read August 2026
Also at: Amazon
FAQ
Which is better, the Aiper Scuba S3 or the Beatbot Sora 30?
As of July 2026 our Middleweight fight rules for the Beatbot Sora 30. It has the better owner rating (4.5★/217 against the S3's base as it then stood, 4.3★/116) and, more importantly, a cleaner one — and that gap has since widened in a way that is easy to misread: the S3's Amazon listing DIED and was re-listed in September 2026 showing 4.7★/87, a higher number on a base that is global, duplicated on a second Aiper ASIN, and carries exactly one critical review, which is Vine — its reviews are US purchases, while the S3's larger base is pooled across countries and includes a substantial share of free-product Vine reviews. The S3 keeps the finer 3 µm filter and longer eco runtime, so it's still the pick if filtration is your priority.
Why did the verdict change?
We re-read both Amazon listings on the same day in July 2026, which is the only way to compare fairly. The S3 had drifted from 4.7★/75 to 4.3★/116 while the Sora 30 held at 4.5★/217. Reading the reviews rather than just the averages showed the gap was wider than a tenth of a star: roughly a third of the S3's visible reviews were free-product Vine ones from outside the US, and its recurring complaint is incomplete coverage — the capability it's sold on.
Do the S3 or Sora 30 have replaceable batteries?
No on both, practically speaking. The S3's battery is sealed, and Beatbot doesn't document replaceability on the Sora 30, so treat it as sealed too. The division's third contender, the WYBOT S2, has a user-serviceable battery, but WYBOT no longer sells a genuine replacement pack — and owners report that battery failing early. For a battery-free machine, go corded.
Full fight coverage
Every number on this page derives from the same verified data that renders our showdowns — dated owner-rating reads, MSRP-based tiers, and rulings only where a real fight happened. Data last verified: September 2026. Methodology and monetization disclosure: how we test.